McLaren Port Huron – a leader in healing, your partner in health.

Understanding Your Diagnosis

  1. I’ve Just Been Told I Have Stomach Cancer
  2. Stages of Stomach Cancer
  3. Barium Swallow

    During this procedure, a mixture of barium and water is swallowed just before an x-ray. The barium is used to highlight damage or abnormalities in the upper gastrointestinal tract, including the pharnyx, esophagus, stomach, and duodenum.

  4. Biopsy

    Detailed information on biopsy, including the most common types of biopsy such as endoscopic biopsy, bone marrow biopsy, excisional biopsy, incisional biopsy, fine needle aspiration biopsy, punch biopsy, shave biopsy, and skin biopsy

  5. Can I Survive Stomach Cancer? What is My Prognosis?
  6. Esophagogastroduodenoscopy

    Esophagogastroduodenoscopy (EGD) is a diagnostic procedure used to diagnose structural or functional abnormalities of the esophagus, stomach, and/or duodenum.

  7. Everything You Need to Know About a Fecal Occult Blood Test (FOBT)
  8. How Does My Doctor Know I Have Stomach Cancer?
  9. Stomach Cancer: Biopsy
  10. Stomach Cancer: Tests After Diagnosis
  11. Upper Gastrointestinal Series

    An upper gastrointestinal series (UGI) is an x-ray examination of the upper gastrointestinal (GI) tract, including the esophagus, stomach, and duodenum.